Mini-post on conversion examples, May 1, 2014

In this space I hope to highlight examples of casting conversions, especially those in Austempered Ductile Iron (ADI). These examples will be those that are publicly available as I am not in the habit of divulging trade secrets. If you have an example you want to share, let me know - you know where to find me.

The good people at Dotson Iron Castings are experts at casting conversions.  They do a lot of design work to help customers to create more lightweight and cost-effective solutions.  They executed a Shank Pivot Mount conversion from a weldment with great success.  You can read about it here.  This particular casting won the 2012 Metalcasting Design and Purchasing Award for Best in Class Design.

Great work done there!  I hope to present more such cases in this space in the weeks to come.